TABLE OF CONTENTS


The Pronto Course Management web portal allows you to enable or disable Pronto in courses, sections, and groups within Canvas altogether or individually. There is a "Sync Now" option that can be used to synchronize the changes between Pronto and Canvas.


Logging into Pronto Course Management

Using the link, given to you by your administrator, you will be able to log into the Pronto Course Management web portal.

The first time you log in you will be asked to authorize the account between Pronto and Canvas. You will need to authorize your account because Pronto requires a temporary access token from Canvas to read the list of courses in which you are a teacher. Pronto does not permanently store that token in the system — once the session has finished or you have logged out of the Course Management web portal, that authorization token is destroyed.

Double-check to make sure everything is correct before clicking the Authorize option. If any of the information is wrong, please contact your administrator immediately.

Organization between Canvas and Pronto

When it comes to organization in Canvas, there are three types: Courses, Sections, and Groups. 

However, in Pronto there are only two types: Categories and Groups. 

Canvas Courses will become Pronto Categories, and both Canvas Sections and Canvas Groups will become individual Pronto Groups sharing the same level.

Course Management Screen

The Course Management screen will display all the courses in which you have been assigned to as a teacher. Clicking on a course title will display the Course Detail screen.

  • 1. Organization Name – will display your organization name.
  • 2. Profile Info – will display your profile name with the ability to log out.
  • 3. Missing Courses – Only Canvas courses that match the following criteria will be shown in the list:
            ● The account or sub-account the course is in must be Pronto-enabled.
    ● You must be a teacher in at least one section of the course.
    ● The course must be published.
            ● The course must not be concluded.
            ● There must be at least one student enrolled in at least one section of the
                course.
  • 4. Course Search field – will allow you to instantly search and filter the course list based on the text entered into the search field.
  • 5. Course Title – will display the title of the course you are assigned to. Can also be used to display the Sections and Groups screen.
  • 6. Synchronization Info – will display sync information between Pronto and Canvas. There are four states that can be displayed:
            ● Not Yet Enabled - this is the default starting state for a created course.
                 The course has not been enabled and Pronto will not be displayed
                 for courses, sections, or groups in Canvas. The Course Detail screen
                 will also be empty.
            ● Last Sync - will display the date and time of the last sync and if it was
                 successful or not.
            ● Syncing - the system is in the process of synchronizing between Pronto
                 and Canvas. As soon as it's complete it will display the Last Sync
                 information.
            ● Disabled - Pronto has been removed for the entire course including
                all the sections and groups assigned to it. This will affect all teachers and
                students assigned to the specific course. The Course Detail screen
                 will also be empty.


Course Detail Screen

The Course Detail screen will display all the sessions and groups that are part of the course that you have been assigned to as the teacher. You can also disable Pronto for the entire course or disable each section or group individually. From this screen you can also sync changes with Canvas.

  • 1. Disable Pronto (Course) – will remove Pronto for the entire course including all the sections and groups assigned to it. Disabling the course will remove Pronto from Canvas affecting all teachers and students assigned to the specific course.
    (This option is not permanent and will not clear any chat history. But all teachers and students will no longer have access to the chat or chat history. If you enable Pronto again in this course all of the original Pronto groups and sections will be restored, along with all chat history.)
  • 2. Sections and Groups – allows you to toggle between sections and groups.
  • 3. Disable Pronto (Section or Group) – will remove Pronto for the individual section or group. Disabling a specific section or group will remove Pronto from Canvas affecting all teachers and students assigned to the specific section or group.
    (This option is not permanent and will not clear any chat history. But all teachers and students will no longer have access to the chat or chat history. Will require a Sync Now before the changes take effect. If you enable a Pronto group or section again it will be restored, along with all chat history.)
  • 4. Sync Now – will schedule a sync between Pronto and Canvas. This will include updating the Pronto group or section title to match the current Canvas course, section, or group name. Adds and removes Pronto group members to match the Canvas course, section, or group membership.
    (NOTE: Sometimes when syncing it may continue to say “Syncing …”. You might try refreshing to see if it displays successful.)
  • 5. Automatically enable new sections – will allow new Canvas sections, when created, to automatically have Pronto enabled.
    (Will require a Sync Now before the changes take effect.)
  • 6. Automatically enable new groups – will allow new Canvas groups, when created, to automatically have Pronto enabled.
    (Will require a Sync Now before the changes take effect.)

Did this answer your question?