Each person in a Pronto organization is assigned one of the following roles:
Roles are hierarchical. A Manager has all the permissions a User has, and an Admin has all the permissions of both Manager and User.
Each role has a set of permissions associated with it. For example, the "Create new groups" permission that determines which people in an organization are permitted to create a new group. In addition to the permissions discussed here, an Admin has full access to Organization Management to manage all users, settings, and integrations. It is recommended that you limit the number of users with the Admin role.
You have the flexibility to decide what each of those roles means in your organization. To customize permissions, go to the "Roles and Permissions" section of Organization Management. (Note that you will need to be an Admin to access Organization Management)
Here you can customize the permissions for each role as appropriate for your organization. Since Admin is the highest role it always has full permissions and cannot be customized.
Please note: Depending on if certain features are enabled in your organization this screen may show different items on this screen than shown above, or in some cases a permission may not be editable.
Create new groups
Default Role: User
Why you might change it: If you do not want certain people to create groups, then disable this permission for the desired role.
This permission controls which roles have access to creating a new group within Pronto. When disabled, people with that role do not see the "Create Group" option. Please note that starting a direct message is not considered the same thing as creating a group. You can control DMs using the separate "Start direct messages" permission.
Search for any person in the organization
Default Role: User
Why you might change it: If you want to allow some users to create groups and send direct messages only with people in their current groups then you will want to disable this permission for the desired role.
There are places in the Pronto interface where you can search for other people, such as when creating a new group or starting a direct message conversation. This permission controls which people may be searched in the list.
If "Search for any person in the organization" is enabled then the user may select the "Entire Organization" filter and search anyone in the organization.
If "Search for any person in the organization" is disabled then the "Entire Organization" filter is disabled and the user may only search within their Connections. Connections are people that are already in groups or direct messages with that user.
For example, when a user taps on the filter option in the Direct Message screen, this is what they will see when this permission is enabled vs. disabled.
Send organization-wide announcements
Default Role: Admin
Why you might change it: If you want to delegate the ability to send a high-priority org-wide announcement without making a user a full Admin you may want to change this permission to the Manager role.
If Announcements are enabled in your organization, then you can control who is allowed to send one to the entire organization. Since this permission gives the ability to broadcast announcements to the entire org, it is not recommended that you set this permission to User.
Send group-level announcements
Default Role: Manager
Why you might change it: In some cases you may want to allow all users to be able to send announcements to the groups they are in, so you may change this value to User.
If Announcements are enabled in your organization, then a person with this permission may send an announcement to one or more groups that they are in. They need only be a member of that group; they do not need to be an owner of a group in order to send an announcement to it.
Start direct messages
Default Role: User
Why you might change it: If you do not want certain people to be able to contact each other directly via direct message, you may want to increase permission to Manager or Admin.
If a person does not have permission to start a direct message then the primary "Direct Message" option will be removed from the Pronto interface. Users may still see some "Message" buttons in the app when viewing a person preview card, but when they tap them they will get a permissions error.
Please note that this permission controls only who can start a direct message conversation. For example, if this permission is set to Manager then a manager may begin the initial direct message conversation with a User, but after it has started, then the user may send messages back to the manager from that point on.
If you change this value, existing direct message conversations will not be affected.