CONTENTS

Pronto allows users to share live broadcasts from their phone or browser. Up to ten people can go live together at once, and hundreds more can watch. Live users can share their screens and watchers can participate using chat messages.

Watching a Livestream

When a livestream is being broadcast you will receive a notification alert and a Live icon will appear next to the group name, in the Drawer panel. A video bubble will also appear allowing you to quickly enter the livestream as a watcher.

On the browser the bubble appears in the upper right corner and on a mobile device the bubble appears in the camera icon.

Livestream notifications.

Clicking or tapping on the video bubble with display the livestream watcher screen. As a watcher you can only participate using the chat message line. You can still hear, view, and switch between presenters by clicking on their bubble.

Livestream Watcher screen.

  • 1. Livestream Exit – will allow you to leave the livestream and you will be brought back to the main chat screen. The video bubble will still be displayed allowing you to re-enter the livestream anytime.
  • 2. Join Livestream – will allow you to enter the Livestream and become a presenter. You bubble will be added to the Presenter Bubbles and you will be able to participate using video and voice.
  • 3. Viewers panel – will display exactly who is participating in the livestream. It will show who is streaming, as well as who is simply watching.

Viewers panel.

  • 4. Profile Name – will display your profile name.
  • 5. Record Livestream – if you are a presenter you will be able to record the livestream. As a watcher the icon will change to let you know the livestream is being recorded. If a livestream is recorded, you will see a replay button inside that livestream's post in the chat.
  • 6. Mute Audio – will turn off the livestream audio, muting everyone presenting. You will not be able to hear any of the presenters until you turn the audio back on. This does not affect anyone else. Everyone still in the livestream will be still able to hear each other.
  • 7. Presenter Bubbles – will display each person in the livestream that can present or broadcast. If any presenter shares their screen a separate bubble will appear for every screen shared. You can click or tap on any bubble at any time to switch to that presenter or their shared screen.
  • 8. Chat Message Line – will allow you to participate by typing a chat message in the line.

Broadcasting a Livestream

Livestream can be initiated in both chat groups and direct messages. To start going live, click the Livestream option or tap the Camera option. Doing so will send a notification to other users in the group or the direct user that you have gone live and that they can join you.

  • From the browser you can click the Livestream option.

Browser Livestream option.

  • From a mobile device you can tap the Camera option.

Mobile Livestream option.

Whether you’re the one who initiated the livestream or you are joining in on an existing one, you will have all the controls of a presenter.

Livestream Presenter screen.

  • 1. Livestream Exit – will allow you to leave the livestream and you will be brought back to the main chat screen. The video bubble will still be displayed allowing you to re-enter the livestream anytime.
  • 2. Viewers panel – will display exactly who is participating in the livestream. It will show who is streaming, as well as who is simply watching.

Viewers panel.

  • 3. Share Screen – (Browser only) will allow you to share your screen with the other watchers and presenters. A new video bubble will be added to the Presenter Bubbles that will allow users to switch to view your screen.
  • 4. Profile Name – will display your profile name.
  • 5. Record Livestream –will allow you to record the livestream for later viewing in case someone was not able to participate right away. The icon will change and everyone in the stream will be notified if someone starts recording the session. If a livestream is recorded, you will see a replay button inside that livestream's post in the chat.
  • 6. Mute Yourself – will turn off your microphone only so that nobody in the livestream will be able to hear you.
  • 7. Mute Audio – will turn off the livestream audio, muting everyone presenting. You will not be able to hear any of the presenters until you turn the audio back on. This does not affect anyone else. Everyone still in the livestream will be still able to hear each other.
  • 8. Presenter Bubbles – will display each person in the livestream that can present or broadcast. If any presenter shares their screen a separate bubble will appear for every screen shared. You can click or tap on any bubble at any time to switch to that presenter or their shared screen.
  • 9. Chat Message Line – will allow you to participate by typing a chat message in the line.
  • 10. Switch Camera – (Mobile only) will allow you to switch between the front and back facing camera.

Viewing a Recorded Livestream

If you were not able to attend the original livestream broadcast and someone recorded it, you can access that recorded video anytime.

A recorded broadcast is only kept if any person chooses to record the livestream during the event. Recordings are also started and ended from the moment a person hits record until the last presenter leaves the event.

Viewing a recorded livestream.

There are two ways to access recorded livestream broadcasts:

  • 1. Replay – in the chat group is the inline message for when the broadcast took place. By clicking or tapping the Replay option you can view that recorded video.
  • 2. Group Settings – (Browser only) - click the Settings option located in the upper-right corner of the group. Switch to the Media tab, choose the Livestream category option, and click the Replay option to view the recorded video.

Livestreams media category.

How do we see Livestream being used?

  • Easier-to-attend office hours
  • Guest speakers
  • Group projects/meetings
  • Live, step-by-step directions for fixing problems

Did this answer your question?