The Pronto Course Management web portal allows you to enable or disable Pronto in courses and groups within Blackboard altogether or individually. There is a "Sync Now" option that can be used to synchronize the changes between Pronto and Blackboard.

Table of Contents

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Logging into Pronto Course Management

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Using the link, given to you by your administrator, you will be able to log into the Pronto Course Management web portal.

Pronto Course Management Login screen.

The first time you log in you will be asked to authorize the account between Pronto and Blackboard. You will need to authorize your account because Pronto requires a temporary access token from Blackboard to read the list of courses in which you are a teacher. Pronto does not permanently store that token in the system — once the session has finished or you have logged out of the Course Management web portal, that authorization token is destroyed.

Double-check to make sure everything is correct before clicking the Authorize option. If any of the information is wrong, please contact your administrator immediately.

Blackboard Pronto Authorization screen.

Organization between Blackboard and Pronto

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When it comes to organization in Blackboard, there are two types: Courses and Groups.

In Pronto, there are also two types: Categories and Groups.

Blackboard Courses will become Pronto Categories and Blackboard Groups will become Pronto Groups.

Organization between Blackboard and Pronto.

Course Management Screen

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Course Management screen will display all the courses in which you have been assigned to as a teacher. Clicking on a course title will display the Course Detail screen.

Course Management Screen.

  • 1. Organization Name – will display your organization name.
  • 2. Profile Info – will display your profile name with the ability to log out.
  • 3. Missing Courses – Only Blackboard courses that match the following criteria will be shown in the list:
    ● The account or sub-account the course is in must be Pronto-enabled.
    ● You must be a teacher in at least one course.
    ● The course must be published.
    ● The course must not be concluded.
    ● There must be at least one student enrolled in the course.
  • 4. Course Search field – will allow you to instantly search and filter the course list based on the text entered into the search field.
  • 5. Course Title – will display the title of the course you are assigned to. Can also be used to display the Sections and Groups screen.
  • 6. Synchronization Info – will display sync information between Pronto and Blackboard. There are four states that can be displayed:
    Not Yet Enabled - this is the default starting state for a created course.
    The course has not been enabled and Pronto will not be displayed
    for courses or groups in Blackboard. The Course Detail screen
    will also be empty.
    Last Sync - will display the date and time of the last sync and if it was
    successful or not.
    Syncing - the system is in the process of synchronizing between Pronto
    and Blackboard. As soon as it's complete it will display the Last Sync
    information.
    Disabled - Pronto has been removed for the entire course including
    all the groups assigned to it. This will affect all teachers and
    students assigned to the specific course. The Course Detail screen
    will also be empty.


Course Detail Screen

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Course Detail screen will display all the groups that are part of the course that you have been assigned to as the teacher. You can also disable Pronto for the entire course or disable each group individually. From this screen you can also sync changes with Blackboard.

Course Detail Screen.

  • 1. Disable Pronto (Course) – will remove Pronto for the entire course including all the groups assigned to it. Disabling the course will remove Pronto from Blackboard affecting all teachers and students assigned to the specific course.
    (This option is not permanent and will not clear any chat history. But all teachers and students will no longer have access to the chat or chat history. If you enable Pronto again in this course all of the original Pronto groups will be restored, along with all chat history.)
  • 2. Course and Groups – allows you to toggle between the course and individual groups.
  • 3. Disable Pronto (Group) – will remove Pronto for that individual group. Disabling a specific group will remove Pronto from Blackboard affecting all teachers and students assigned to the specific group.
    (This option is not permanent and will not clear any chat history. But all teachers and students will no longer have access to the chat or chat history. Will require a Sync Now before the changes take effect. If you enable a Pronto group again it will be restored, along with all chat history.)
  • 4. Sync Now – will schedule a sync between Pronto and Blackboard. This will include updating the Pronto group or course title to match the current Blackboard course or group name. Adds and removes Pronto group members to match the Blackboard course or group membership.
    (NOTE: Sometimes when syncing it may continue to say “Syncing …”. You might try refreshing to see if it displays successfully.)
  • 5. Automatically enable new groups – will allow new Blackboard groups, when created, to automatically have Pronto enabled.
    (Will require a Sync Now before the changes take effect.)
Did this answer your question?