How do I hide a direct message to someone I’m barely communicating with? How do I unhide a message I have previously hidden?

If you are constantly direct messaging someone, your category list can become quite large. There might be people you communicate very infrequently with and would like to hide them from the list.

Although direct messages will automatically hide after being inactive for a while, you can manually hide using the following options:

  • More Tools option located on the Direct Message heading
  • Direct Message Settings screen

When a direct message is hidden, there's no way to unhide the person, it will automatically reappear when you message the person again or that person messages you.

More Tools

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Step 1. Make sure you’re in the direct message you want to hide.

On the web app:

  • Step 2. Click on the More Tools option located to the right of the Direct Message heading.

More Tools option.

  • Step 3. Click on the Hide Direct Message option to hide the message from the category list.

Hide Direct Message option.

On a mobile device:

  • Step 2. Long press the Direct Message heading. (press and hold for a few seconds on the heading and the menu will appear.)

Long press on the Direct Message Heading.

  • Step 3. From the menu, choose the Hide Direct Message option to hide the message from the category list.

Hide Direct Message option.

Direct Message Settings

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Step 1. Click or tap the Direct Message Setting option located in the upper-right corner.

Direct Message option.

  • Step 2. Click or tap the Hide option.

Hide option.

Did this answer your question?